LowCarbonPower logo
Instagram Facebook X (Twitter)

Elektrizität in Guadeloupe im Jahr 2011

Weltweites Ranking: #67
31.2% #105 Kohlenstoffarmer Strom
481.37 watts #79 Erzeugung pro Person
615.06 gCO2eq/kWh #178 Kohlenstoffintensität

In Guadeloupe beträgt der Anteil von Fossilbrennstoffen an der Elektrizitätsproduktion etwa 69%, wovon der größte Teil auf Kohle zurückzuführen ist. Der Anteil an kohlenstoffarmem Strom liegt hingegen bei rund 31%. Der größte Teil dieser erzeugten Energie stammt aus Biokraftstoffen, die etwa 21% ausmachen. Geothermie trägt rund 6% bei, Windenergie nahezu 3% und Solarenergie knapp 2%.

Vorschläge

*Looking to other countries, Guadeloupe might draw inspiration for the expansion of low-carbon electricity production.* Bei genauer Betrachtung der erfolgreichsten Länder in Bezug auf die Erzeugung von kohlenstoffarmer Elektrizität, kann Guadeloupe viel von Ländern wie Frankreich und der Slowakei lernen. Diese Länder erzeugen etwa 66% bzw. 61% ihres Stroms aus Kernenergie. Dänemark hingegen, setzt vornehmlich auf Windenergie und erzeugt damit rund 59% des Stroms. Zusätzlich kann Guadeloupe Inspiration aus Ländern wie Chile oder Australien ziehen, die beträchtlichen Anteil ihrer Elektrizität durch Sonnenenergie erzeugen, mit Werten um die 18-20%.

Geschichte

Betrachtet man die Veränderungen in der Erzeugung von kohlenstoffarmem Strom in Guadeloupe, lässt sich feststellen, dass die Entwicklung in den letzten Jahrzehnten eher langsam voranschritt. Seit 2001 gab es kaum signifikante Veränderungen, bis im Jahr 2003 die Geothermie-Erzeugung leicht auf 0,1 TWh anstieg. Es dauerte bis 2004, bevor die erste relevante Menge an Biokraftstoffen zur Stromerzeugung genutzt wurde, ebenfalls etwa 0,1 TWh. Allerdings gab es danach keine signifikanten Veränderungen in der Stromerzeugung aus diesen Quellen, bis 2011, als die Produktion von Biokraftstoffen leicht zurückging. Wind- und Solarenergie haben seit ihrer Einführung in das Energiesystem im Jahr 2001 fast keinen Beitrag zur Stromerzeugung geleistet.

Stromimporte und -exporte

Handelsbilanz

Daten-Quellen

Die die Datenquelle ist Ember.
Instagram Facebook X (Twitter)

LowCarbonPower logo
Instagram Facebook X (Twitter)

Electricity in Guadeloupe in 2011

Global Ranking: #67
31.2% #105 Low-carbon electricity
481.37 watts #79 Generation / person
615.06 gCO2eq/kWh #178 Carbon Intensity

In 2011, the Caribbean region of Guadeloupe consumed power primarily from fossil fuels, mostly coal, which contributed to approximately 69% of the electricity generation. Low-carbon energy resources such as biofuels, geothermal, wind, and solar power collectively added up to about 31% of the electricity production. Biofuels were the largest contributor among these low-carbon sources, providing for over 20% of the electricity consumption, while geothermal energy represented just under 6%, wind at 3% and solar power generating slightly less than 2%.

Suggestions

Guadeloupe can significantly increase its share of low-carbon electricity generation by learning from and replicating successful models from countries with similar climates and geographical features. Countries such as Denmark and Uruguay both rely heavily on wind energy, contributing to 59% and 41% of their respective electricity supplies. Similarly, given Guadeloupe's high sunlight exposure, it could also draw lessons from countries like Greece, Australia, and Chile whose solar energy contributes to 19%, 18%, and 20% of their electricity production respectively. Furthermore, a significant boost in Guadeloupe's low-carbon energy could be achieved through the utilization of nuclear power, just like France who derives a phenomenal 66% of its electricity from nuclear sources.

History

The history of low-carbon electricity in Guadeloupe started only in the early 2000s with an initial focus on biofuels, wind, and geothermal energy. There was almost no expansion in terms of wind and geothermal until 2003 when geothermal energy recording a minimal rise. Biofuels saw a slight increase in 2004, but there was no considerable development in this sector until 2011. Wind energy remained constant throughout this period, showing no growth at all. Solar energy only came into the picture in 2010, and it too showed no variation in 2011. A slight decline is noticeable in the biofuels sector in 2011, reflecting possibly an area of concern. Undoubtedly, the history of low-carbon electricity production in Guadeloupe underscores a slow but steady inception and growth with ample opportunities for expansion and development, particularly in wind, solar, and nuclear energy.

Electricity Imports and Exports

Balance of Trade

Data Sources

The the data source is Ember.
Instagram Facebook X (Twitter)